The Board (previously known as the Steering Committee) is elected by the General Assembly for a two-year term. The latest election took place at the ICANN-54 Meeting (Dublin, October 2015), in the framework of the Annual General Meeting of EURALO. The following officers were elected unanimously:
DSC00857The Chair is the official representative of the association, and in this capacity is a voting member at the EURALO General Assembly.

Jean-Jacques Subrenat is the Chair of (elected in October 2015). Currently a member of the NTIA IANA Functions’ Stewardship Transition Coordination Group (ICG), and of the NetMundial Initiative Coordination Council (NMI-CC). During his service on the ICANN Board (2007-10), was a member of the President’s Strategy Committee, co-authoring “Improving Institutional Confidence” and its recommendations; created and was first Chair of the Public participation committee; initiated and was an inaugural member of the Global relationships committee. As a member of the At-Large Advisory Committee in ICANN (ALAC 2010-14), launched the Future Challenges Working Group, co-authoring “Making ICANN Relevant, Responsive and Respected (R3)”. A former French diplomat (1972-2005), served in various embassies, and in the ministry of foreign affairs in Paris was in policy planning, diplomatic advisor to the Minister for European affairs, deputy director for Asia and the Pacific, alternate director for the Americas. Was permanent representative and ambassador to the WEU (Brussels), ambassador to Estonia, ambassador to Finland, interim governor in the Board of governors of ASEF. Was a tutor at France’s International institute for public administration (IIAP, Paris), and later at the French national school for public administration (ENA, Strasbourg). Served as Chair of the advisory board, Institut Pierre Werner (Luxembourg); special advisor to the board of Neumunster cultural centre (CCRN, Luxembourg) and, in that capacity, member of the board of the European Union national institutes of culture (EUNIC).
Olawale_BakareThe Vice-Chair replaces the Chair when the latter is not available.

Olawale (‘Wale) Shakiru Bakare was elected to this position in October 2015. He has been active in the area of Internet Governance for years. ‘Wale participated in Internet Society’s Next Generation Leaders (NGL) – eLearning by DiploFoundation. He is currently a participant of ICANN’s Cross-Community Working Group (CWG) on NTIA Stewardship Transition of IANA. Wale Bakare is a member of Internet Governance Forum (IGF) for Best Practices on Meaningful Multistakeholder Participation, Establishing and Supporting Computer Emergency Response Team (CERTs) for Internet Security, Creating an Enabling Environment for the Development of Local Content. ‘Wale recently earned a certificate in User Innovation from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MITx), US.  He earned a certificate in Initiating and Planning Projects (Project Management) from the University of California, Irvine, US. He also received an MSc degree in Embedded Computer Systems Engineering from the University of Northumbria, Newcastle upon Tyne, UK. He is an Innovator, as well as an Internet-of-Things/Telecommunication/IT Consultant with over 15 years’ experience.
gaetano-profileThe Secretary is in charge of documentation for the Association, including the minutes of the meetings and the coordination of the posting to the web site.

Roberto Gaetano was elected to this position in October 2015. He has been an active participant in the Internet and the ICANN policy making process since 1997. As a representative of ETSI (European Telecommunication Standards Institute), he played important roles in the formation of CORE (Council of Internet Registrars), the policy discussions around the U.S. Government’s White Paper (International Forum on the White Paper), and the formation of ICANN’s original Domain Name Supporting Organization (DNSO). He served as one of the first chairs of the DNSO General Assembly and has focused his efforts in recent years on bringing to life a constituency for individual users and registrants. Roberto has been the ALAC (At-Large Advisory Committee) Liaison to the ICANN Board, then a NomCom-elected ICANN Board Director. In this capacity, he has served in several committees, and as Vice-Chair. Currently, he is the Vice-Chair of the PIR (Public Interest Registry) Board.


The Treasurer is responsible for the financial management and reporting of the Association. This position, currently vacant, is temporarily occupied by the President.